Lovely TV: Game of Thrones

I know, at this rate I’ll be posting every 4 months. When you’re editing and writing parenting content all day and reading tons of it for your job, it’s hard to feel inspired to write even more. But, onwards.

Can someone who’s a “Game of Thrones” fan explain the appeal of it to me? I’m attempting, rather poorly, to catch up to my husband and am just entering Season 2. I read the first book and the first season seemed pretty much what I remember reading many many moons ago. But it all just seems like the same thing over and over again.

Let me sum it up for you: Boobs, naked prostitute, family fights, sad people in the desert, evil incestuous queen, sad people in the snow, more naked ladies (where are the naked MEN, people?!), gross tween king whose mom clearly did not practice attachment parenting, awkward-looking sexual encounters, really.angry.men, candles, wall, weird creepy dragons, beheadings. Oh, there’s a wolf in there somewhere too. Did I capture it?

So tell me, is it worth continuing or should I just cut my losses?

Maybe this sums it up better than I can:

Happy Monday!

5 thoughts on “Lovely TV: Game of Thrones

  1. You forgot terrifying ice zombies, everyone you love suffers, and hilarious drunk dwarf, swords and swords and more swords, and dragons.

    But I still love it. It took me a while to get into the first season (I’ve never read any of the books, but I’m going to) but now it’s one of my favorites. For me, I have hope my favorite characters will have a happy ending (or at least not die terrible deaths) and I need to see it through.

  2. Hahaha, this made me laugh. I was slow to get into it as well and would mostly fall asleep next to my husband while he watched. Im not much into tv in general but did eventually get into it. It was more of my fascination with history and the idea that these sort of things (minus some of the obvious such as the dragons) really happened. It is such a different way of life and I think many of us know that but to see it played out kind of puts it all into perspective for me. Wild stuff!

Leave a Reply

