Lovely Children’s Book: Following Featherbottom

IMG_4803

Personalized children’s books are all the rage lately, so I was super excited to get a chance to check out the latest offering in this genre from MarbleSpark. I loved the fact that Following Featherbottom touches on my love for travel – something I hope to pass on to my children – and is not only highly entertaining for kids to read (more details on this later) but highly educational as well. The personalization option is just an added bonus.

The basic storyline of the book involves a special delivery stork, Featherbottom, who has been tasked with finding the perfect name for a baby-to-be by finding letters from all around the world. Little readers then follow him country by country (each country matching a letter in your child’s name, like the Phillipines to find a “P”, etc.) until all of the letters of their name have been found. FYI, Little Miss’s full name (first, middle and last) is a total of 17 letters, so that’s 17 countries. And the beautiful watercolor illustrations of each country also has a bunch of objects on the page that also start with the same letter, so that as your child grows older they can start to look and find these items. For example an abominable snowman and alien in Antarctica.

IMG_4811

Author Phil Hausler explains how he came up with the concept for this book:
“Eight years ago, my wife and I were expecting our first child.  We were considering family names for our first-born that I knew we probably wouldn’t find at the souvenir gift stand (we eventually named him McCoy).  I remember how bummed I was as a kid when I couldn’t find my own name, Philip (one L!), at the tourist souvenir stand.  So I started toying with the idea of a personalized book.  As a ‘weekend project’, I decided I would try to write a children’s book.

After a bunch of detours, I eventually wrote Following Featherbottom. At that time, I still only imagined this as a project for my own (future) kids. But one night I emailed an early draft to my sister and she called me early the next morning to say my story had made her cry.  That was the first moment I ever considered publishing Following Featherbottom for anyone beyond my own kids…quite a ‘weekend project!'”
IMG_4816

Little Miss adores this book and constantly asks us to read her the “Little Miss book.” She loves seeing her name spelled out in the end, and finding the letters on each page. We are definitely getting a copy for the newest addition so she has her own special copy. Personally, I think this make such a wonderful and unique birthday gift for any child.

If you’re interested in checking out Following Featherbottom or some of the other personalized book offerings from the MarbleSpark, check them out HERE.

** Disclaimer: I was provided with a copy of this book for review, but all thoughts and opinions are my own.

One thought on “Lovely Children’s Book: Following Featherbottom

Leave a Reply

