Lovely Thoughts: Happiness at Work

Today I found a not-so-pleasant memento from an old job that felt like it was literally sucking the soul from me, mainly thanks to an objectively horrible boss (no offense, anonymous boss, but I don’t think anyone would disagree – even HR didn’t disagree.) At first, I felt livid and angry all over again like I used to every day during my long tenure there, but the more I thought about it, the funnier it seemed. That someone was that unhappy and unbalanced enough to do some of the things they did (seriously it was unbelievable – if you want to read some of those crazy exploits, go here – mine are the posts in black) is kind of… crazy.

And thanks to finally sucking it up and saying adios to a toxic situation, I have found myself doing what I love with nice people and writing posts on this blog that don’t just sound like I’m making them up.

All this to say, life takes you where you need to go if you’ll just let it. Change can be terrifying and leaving a stable job isn’t something I would just recommend to anyone, but if you know it’s not what you’re meant to do and you’re unhappy more often than not, take a chance on something new, even if it means taking a pay cut. Life is short. And trust me, you’ll be sooooo much happier in the end. And being happy at work translates to happier everything else, and who doesn’t want that?

And this video isn’t related at all, except that it made me happy to watch it (thanks, Neon Princess!) so hopefully you enjoy it too (HINT: it helps to watch the cringe-worthy real Miley Cyrus video this one is mocking):

3 thoughts on “Lovely Thoughts: Happiness at Work

Leave a Reply

