Lovely Baby: Bump Nest Body Pillow Review

bump nest

A few months ago, I had the opportunity to attend the 2013 PLUSH Show. Along the way, I got to meet some super awesome mompreneuers and vendors of all things new and baby. One of the products I was most excited to see was a new pregnancy pillow from the brand-spankin’ new Bump Nest company. As a normal back sleeper, sleeping on my side during pregnancy is one of my biggest challenges (I know, I’m lucky that that’s all I have to complain about.)

Back in the day, there were basically only two pregnancy pillows to choose from: the Snoogle and the Boppy. After scouring Amazon reviews, which sounded pretty evenly split, I decided to shell out my $50 for the Snoogle. The Snoogle and I had a love-hate relationship. I loved that there was an invention out there that might help me sleep better through the aches and pains. I hated everything else about it. It was too large for my petite self, (i.e. I had a crick in my neck every morning because the pillow was too high and never seemed to deflate,) the cover was a giant PITA to take off and put back on (at one point I gave up and just had it cover-less), and anytime I wanted to turn to the other side I’d have to wake up and lift the huge behemoth to flip it on the other side, often smacking hubby in the face. So I was more than happy to give it away to another expecting mama. But now with #2 on the way, what’s a sleepless gal to do? Thank God for Bump Nest!

41NAQTYfOsL._SX200_Originally designed for people suffering from acid reflux, the creators realized it could serve a double purpose for pregnant women as well – and they were right!

The body pillow is meant to relieve the pressure of side sleeping, and unlike the other pillows out there, this one is filled with microbeads so it supposedly conforms to your shape once used (adios neck cricks!) And after two weeks of testing it out, I can say that’s true. The first few nights were like any first nights with any pillow – an adjustment period to getting used to the third inanimate person in my bed, figuring out what position was most comfy, and just getting used to sleeping with a large body pillow. After night three or four though, I started noticing a huge difference. I was actually sleeping through the night! And waking up without back and hip pain! Hallelujah! It’s not too soft, not too firm, and just the right amount of squish for this lady.

To top it all off, this pillow, as large as it is, is CUTE. And I mean I wanna show it off on top of my bed cute. It comes in a wide variety of chic adult-friendly fabrics (seriously, what grown woman wants a pillow that takes up 1/3 of the bed covered in pastel teddy bears? Apologies if it’s you!) but I went with the Golden Scallop pattern (pictured above), although I really would’ve been thrilled with any of them. The washable cover is also easy to take on and off not to mention super soft. An unforeseen bonus: Little Miss loves playing and lying on it – I can see this is one pillow that will hang around long after Baby is here.

719AiEf-aKL._SL1500_

This company is so new that right now the body pillow can only be purchase through their site or Amazon, but I’m hoping to see some major retailers carrying this beauty soon so other moms-to-be can experience some dream sleep!

UPDATE: I’m now 30-weeks along, and can honestly say this pillow is a lifesaver! I would not be sleeping as well as I have been without it (and didn’t the last time around). Even the hubby loves taking naps with it (ha!) So if you’re wondering if it’s worth the cost, take it from one mama to another, IT IS!

*DISCLAIMER: This product was provided to me by Bump Nest, but all thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.

4 thoughts on “Lovely Baby: Bump Nest Body Pillow Review

  1. Pingback: How to choose the perfect pregnancy pillow | Beauty and The Being

  2. This is a great body pillow for pregnancy that I started using around 4 months when my back started hurting and a pillow between the knees wasn’t cutting it. This helps a lot, but I toss and turn in my sleep so I wish it was a complete U shape. You can still make do by pulling the long part between your legs from the back if you are on the short side though, because attempting to flip this thing around while under the covers is ridiculous. I don’t know if I notice any help with the back support part.

Leave a Reply

