Lovely Book: Where’d You Go, Bernadette

So after Gone Girl, which was eons ago, our lovely book club picked another winner of a book, Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple (who was also a writer for Arrested Development – need I say more?) While my book club read it in the early spring, I think this makes for a perfect summer book. It’s a fast read, witty, and had me cracking up from beginning to end.

Basically the book revolves around the missing Bernadette, mother to precocious 15-year-old Bee, from whose perspective this book is told. With numerous pop culture references from TED Talks to Microsoft, the novel seamlessly and hilariously tackles a story of family dysfunction, a mystery (hence the title) and a satirical commentary on helicopter parenting.

As the story unravels, and becomes more and more absurd, I became obsessed with finding out what happens. Seriously, if it wasn’t Little Miss keeping me up, it was this book. I just had to know what happened.

I think it’s no lie to say everyone in the book club loved this book. So if you’re looking for the perfect beach read this summer, look no further and thank me later!

P.S. Anyone else have any good summer reads recommendations? I’d love to hear!

Leave a Reply

