Lovely Slow-Cooker: Roast Chicken With Lemon and Garlic

Happy Monday! To start the week off right, I’d love to share this super easy and delicious dinner I made last night. It features my new favorite kitchen appliance – the slow-cooker. When it’s too hot to turn on the oven, or you’re gone at work all day and don’t want to slave in the kitchen as soon as you get home, this modern invention is your best friend!

One of my favorite go-to meals has always been roast chicken with veggies, but it’s not something I’d ever dare to make on a weeknight due to its long cooking time. Then, I ran into No. 2 Pencil’s Slow-Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken recipe and knew I just had to try it. It did not disappoint, and your house smells amazing the entire day.

For the full recipe, head on over to No. 2 Pencil. I cooked a 4.5 lb chicken on high for 4 hours (although after much web research, I’ve read that you can also cook it on high for 6-8 hours – good for those long work days), and my finished product didn’t quite look like her gorgeous picture above. But, to me, it was even better. One of my least favorite parts about roasting a chicken is having to cut it up afterwards, but in my particular slow-cooker the meat just fell off the bone so there was no arduous slicing and pulling involved. And the liquid it produces at the bottom – oh my. Scoop it over your chicken, your veggies, anything really for an extra burst of deliciousness. Here’s my “before” pic – at least this one looks pretty true to the original.

photo

As an added bonus, you’ll have tons of leftovers, so lunches are set for much for the week. You can toss the chicken into salads, quesadillas and sandwiches, or, if you’re like me, eat them with your roasted veggies with (more than) a splash of Cholula on top!

And if you’re super resourceful (I’m wish I was but lazy wins all the time with me), you can save the bones and toss them back into your magical machine with some mirepoix and water to make some homemade chicken broth.

Voila! The work-free meal that just keeps on giving! Enjoy!

P.S. And because you all know how much I love sharing random links, here’s my favorite graduation speech I’ve seen thus far this year. Go Ben Bernanke!

6 thoughts on “Lovely Slow-Cooker: Roast Chicken With Lemon and Garlic

  1. Totally trying this, maybe even tonight. I LOVE whole chicken in the crock pot (though I don’t love actually touching the raw chicken… ha!).

Leave a Reply

